Caprice in Camberwell

Lucy Melvin

Wendy Hiscock’s stunning Caprice gets a London outing on 15 May in a recital for solo violin by Lucy Melvin…

As part of the Music at St Giles programme of eclectic music at Camberwell’s most beautiful venue, violinist Lucy Melvin presents the following programme of music for violin:

JS Bach Partita in E Major, BWB 1006
Wendy Hiscocks (b.1963) Caprice for solo violin
Sergei Prokofiev Sonata for Solo Violin in D Major, Op. 115

Music at St Giles
Lucy Melvin

Sunday 15 May 2022 5pm
St Giles’ Church, Camberwell Church St, London SE5 8RB

This is a perfect programme combination for a Sunday afternoon in May:  The joyful E Major Partita from Bach, and the sparkling Sonata by Prokofiev provide a perfect spring-time backdrop to the soaring qualities within Wendy Hiscocks’ Caprice.

Caprice by Wendy Hiscocks was composed in 1990 in response to a request to include a world premiere performance for a Diploma recital. The work has since found its way into the heart of many young violinists. The seed of inspiration was a close up photo on a postcard of a small bird in flight.

The music is composed in three sections: the outer parts flow with the currents of air and a sense of poise and free fall is required of the performer; this is followed by the more focused rhythms of the middle section expressing dance and pure joy. To hear this piece watch the videos.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.